Books from the Backlog #114

Posted May 28, 2020 by Carole in Books from the Backlog / 19 Comments

Books from the Backlog is a fun way to feature some of those neglected books sitting on your bookshelf unread.  If you are anything like me, you might be surprised by some of the unread books hiding in your stacks.
If you would like to join in, please feel free to enter your link and link back to this post, then spend some time visiting some of the other posts.  

This week’s neglected book


Crimson Lake by Candice Fox

Series: Crimson Lake #1
Publication Date: March 6, 2018
Publisher: Forge Books

Crimson Lake, by Sydney-based, Ned Kelly Award-winning author Candice Fox, is a thrilling contemporary crime novel set in Queensland, Australia, perfect for readers of authors like James Patterson, Harlan Coben, Lisa Gardner, and Tana French.

How do you move on when the world won’t let you?

12:46: Claire Bingley stands alone at a bus stop
12:47: Ted Conkaffey parks his car beside her
12:52: The girl is missing . . .

Six minutes in the wrong place at the wrong time—that’s all it took to ruin Sydney detective Ted Conkaffey’s life. Accused but not convicted of a brutal abduction,Ted is now a free man—and public enemy number one. Maintaining his innocence, he flees north to keep a low profile amidst the steamy, croc-infested wetlands of Crimson Lake.

There, Ted’s lawyer introduces him to eccentric private investigator Amanda Pharrell, herself a convicted murderer. Not entirely convinced Amanda is a cold-blooded killer, Ted agrees to help with her investigation, a case full of deception and obsession, while secretly digging into her troubled past. The residents of Crimson Lake are watching the pair’s every move… and the town offers no place to hide.

Why did I add Crimson Lake to my bookshelf?
A little more than a year ago, I won this book along with the second in the series from Bookish First.  It definitely sounds like something I would like and I have been trying to find a place in my reading schedule for it since I first placed it on my bookshelf.  The reviews look really good so I think it is time to give this one a try.  The past few weeks, I have trying to feature books for this feature that I plan to read soon and it has been really motivating.  

What are your thoughts? Have you read this book?  Would you recommend it to others?

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter


19 responses to “Books from the Backlog #114

  1. oh, this is a totally new to me author. Love the time stamp in the synopsis. stuff like that easily makes me curious. Hope you enjoy this, Carole!

  2. Bea

    New to me author and book and it looks so interesting. I can't wait for your thoughts on it.

  3. That blurb sure does pique my interest. And, yes, looking through my backlog and purposefully mentioning books that will work for this and for a challenge has been motivating to me as well. It helps to have everyone say it sounds good, too. 🙂

  4. I think I've heard of this author and it definitely sounds like I would enjoy it. I hope you can work it into your schedule; I'd love to hear your thoughts.

    Anne – Books of My Heart

  5. Oh wow, this sounds like the exact kind of book I would impulse buy, ignore for several months, and then devour in a single sitting!

  6. I have not read this book, but I HAVE read the third book in the series and just finished writing my review for it. I didn't realize it was third in a series, or I wouldn't have requested. And boy would I have been missing out! I loved it so much that I can't wait to go back and read the previous two books!

    I hope you're able to get to this one soon, Carole.