Audiobook Review – Max Abaddon and the Purity Law

Posted April 27, 2021 by Carole in Reviews / 16 Comments

I received this book for free from the Author. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Audiobook Review – Max Abaddon and the Purity LawMax Abaddon and the Purity Law by Justin S. Leslie
Narrator: Luke Daniels
Series: Max Abaddon #2
ISBN: 9781733187350
Published by Justin Leslie on January 25, 2021
Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Urban
Length: 10 hours 51 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Author
Goodreads
Amazon | Audible | B&N
four-stars

Max Abaddon and the Purity Law…Book 2 of the Max Abaddon series.

Twelve months ago, Max was living what one would consider a normal life. That is, until he learned he was a little more than your average 30-year-old. Together with a team of eclectic mages working out of an estate known as the Atheneum, they destroyed the Fountain of Youth and stopped a plot to disrupt the upcoming talks about the magical and Ethereal communities coming out to the normal world, known as "The Balance", but only for the time being.

Since then, things have been quiet. Max has been settling into his new nine to five job with the transitions office, a division of the National Council of Traditional Sciences (N.C.T.S.), registering Mages and Ethereals alike in preparation for the inevitable Balance. Unfortunately, things don't remain quiet for long. With his powers starting to finally take shape, the magical community realizes that Max is not your normal run-of-the mill junior mage. Max is faced with new challenges in his training and for that matter, his career, when he is visited by an old acquaintance hell bent on exposing what the transitions office true purpose is. His new job may not be as simple as it seems, as Max decides to rally the team at the Atheneum to investigate why the registration information he is gathering is needed, and even worse, what it's being used for.

Together with his most trusted pixie comrade, Petro at his side, Max realizes the group that they ran into a year ago is back. As he perfects his powers under the leadership of his new sponsor, will Max and the team be able to stop the Thule society and ensure the talks for "The Balance" are carried through? Will he end up learning the true nature of the transitions office? Again most importantly, will Max find time for a drink or two at his favorite bar, the Fallen Angel?

Fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Jim Butcher, Ilona Andrews, Benedict Jacka, Kevin Hearne, Richard Kadrey, Shayne Silvers, Patricia Briggs, and BR Kingsolver will not want to miss this latest addition to the urban fantasy scene!

I had a fantastic time with this book! I really enjoyed the first book in this series so I was eager go along with Max on his next adventure. This is the second book in the Max Abaddon series which I would recommend reading in order if at all possible. This was one of those books that I wanted to listen to for hours at a time.

This book picks up shortly after the events in the previous installment. Max and his friends are working the registry when someone new comes in to register. No big deal right? Wrong, it turns out this new registration is a very big deal. Before you know it, all kinds of people are involved and things get very complicated. Max is still figuring out all of his powers and we learn so pretty important information about his family which explains a lot of things. Meanwhile, the magical community is planning to come out to the general population.

I found this book to be really exciting and I loved the thread of humor that runs through the story. Max continues to grow as a character and the supporting characters are very well done. There is quite a bit of action worked into the story which I really appreciated.

Luke Daniels does a fantastic job with this series. I love all of the different voices that he uses for Max and the other supporting characters. He has such a big range and he puts it to good use in this book. I think that he added a lot of excitement to the story and his delivery of the more humorous sections was top-notch. I feel like the narration added to my overall enjoyment of the story.

I would recommend this series to others. I think that this is a very well done series with fantastic characters and a whole lot of excitement. I cannot wait to read more of this wonderful series!

About Luke Daniels

Luke Daniels has performed at various repertory theatres around the country, with an emphasis on Shakespeare. His many audiobook credits range from action and suspense to young adult and adult fiction, including works by Philip Roth and John Updike. He currently resides in the Midwest.

About Justin S. Leslie

Justin S. Leslie is a fervent urban fantasy fan, and newly published author. He is a retired, highly decorated army major who has completed two combat tours in Afghanistan. Justin has focused on building his own magical worlds to share with readers, as well as enjoying ones created by fellow authors.

Justin also holds an MBA from the University of Maryland with a Bachelors from Maryville College, and currently runs a national sales program for a Global 50 company. When he isn’t playing music or spending time with his wife and two boys, he can be found in his Doctors Inlet home, immersed in the latest urban fantasy, or a well-made old fashioned. His inspiration has come from all the other authors in the genre who’ve helped him through endless tough hours needing an escape.

16 responses to “Audiobook Review – Max Abaddon and the Purity Law