Review – For the Wolf by Hannah F. Whitten

Posted June 28, 2021 by Carole in Reviews / 6 Comments

I received this book for free from the Publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review – For the Wolf by Hannah F. WhittenFor the Wolf by Hannah Whitten
Series: Wilderwood #1
ISBN: 9780316592789
Published by Orbit on June 1, 2021
Genres: Action & Adventure, Dark Fantasy, Epic, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance
Pages: 480
Format: ARC, eBook
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
Amazon | Audible | B&N | Kobo | Libro.fm
four-stars

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark, sweeping debut fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn't the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose—to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he'll return the world's captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can't control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can't hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn't learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood—and her world—whole.

"A brilliant dark fantasy debut!" —Jodi Picoult, NYT bestselling author

I enjoyed this book quite a bit! I jumped at the chance to read this book since it sounded like something that I would like. As soon as I started reading, I was hooked and looked forward to picking up the book every chance I could. I found the story to be unique and interesting while the characters were very likable. I had a great time reading this story.

I will say that I went into this book expecting a Little Red Riding Hood retelling but I found this story to be closer to Beauty and the Beast, or maybe a combination of both. Red has always known that she is to be a sacrifice to the Wolf since she is the Second Daughter while her sister, Neve, is destined to inherit the throne. Those close to Red encourage her to run but she decides to go into the Wilderwood as expected of her. The Wolf is not what she expected him to be and she finds that she has a lot to learn.

I really liked Red. She has lived knowing that her life is to be cut short when she is given to the Wolf. When she reaches the Wolf, she is somewhat lost and isn’t quite sure what her role there is. Eammon, the Wolf, was anything but fierce. He has been thrown into his role just as Red has. He works hard to keep the woods safe and to keep Red safe. I thought that they made a great pair. I also really liked seeing how things were going in the city with Neve. Everything came together to a rather exciting finale.

I would recommend this book to others. I really enjoyed the story and found the world-building to be very well done. I cannot wait to read the next book in this exciting series!

I received a digital review copy of this book from Orbit Books via NetGalley.

About Hannah Whitten

Hannah Whitten has been writing to amuse herself since she could hold a pen, and sometime in high school, she figured out that what amused her might also amuse others. When she’s not writing, she’s reading, making music, or attempting to bake. She lives in Tennessee with her husband and children in a house ruled by a temperamental cat.

Leave a Reply

6 responses to “Review – For the Wolf by Hannah F. Whitten

  1. This book sounds really amazing and like something I’d enjoy too. This really sounds like a Little Red Riding Hood retelling. But Beauty and the Beast is my favorite childhood story.. so that one works for me too. 😀