Review – Hideout by Louisa Luna

Posted March 7, 2022 by Carole in Reviews / 20 Comments

I received this book for free from the Publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review – Hideout by Louisa LunaHideout by Louisa Luna
Series: Alice Vega #3
Published by Doubleday Books on March 8, 2022
Genres: Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Pages: 368
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
Amazon | Audible | B&N | Kobo | Libro.fm
four-stars

Vega ignored his tone and continued: ‘I don’t think you’re angry because I haven’t called you. I think you’re angry because I almost got you killed three times.'

A powerful new thriller from Louisa Luna. Alice Vega and Max Caplan uncover a network of American white supremacists in their search for a long-lost counter-culture hero.

In this riveting novel, the fearless and resourceful private investigator Alice Vega is hired to track down Zeb Williams, an athlete who went missing over thirty years ago after a famous loss. Zeb’s mysterious disappearance has earned him a cult following and still haunts the marriage of his ex-girlfriend.

Estranged from her partner and ex-cop Max Caplan, Vega heads alone to a small town in the Pacific Northwest of the USA where Zeb was last seen, and where an anxious community is threatened by a local hate group, the Liberty Boys. As Vega infiltrates the group, she uncovers disturbing secrets that put at risk her own father and Cap’s daughter. No one can cut to the truth like Alice Vega, but this time is it too much for her to handle?

Hideout is pure adrenaline and Luna’s most intimate thriller yet, a classic cold case wrapped in a confrontation with a terrifyingly real network of white supremacists and homegrown terrorists. For readers of Dennis Lehane, Candice Fox and Kate Atkinson’s Jackson Brodie series. Louisa Luna’s Alice Vega novels are unputdownable, full of sly humour, complex characters and masterful storytelling.

Louisa Luna is the author of Two Girls Down and The Janes (both featuring Vega and Cap) as well as Brave New Girl and Crooked. She was born and raised in San Francisco and lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and daughter.

‘Opening this book is like arming a bomb—the suspense is relentless and the payoff is spectacular. Lead character Alice Vega is sensational—I want to see lots more of her.' Lee Child on Two Girls Down

I enjoyed this book! I was first enamored with Vega and Cap when I read Two Girls Down several years ago. This is the third installment in the series and I would recommend reading the series in order if at all possible. I must admit that while I did like this book a lot, it was my least favorite book in the series so far. One of the things that I love about the series is the dynamic between Vega and Cap and they just spent too much time apart in this book. It was still a very solid story that I found very entertaining.

Vega takes on a cold case looking for a missing college football player who ran out of the stadium during a crazy play never to be seen again. The case takes her to a small town and it doesn’t take long for Vega to be knee-deep in the corruption and white supremacy that plague the town. Vega was on her own for much of the book, although we do get to see what is going on in Cap’s life. It was really a shame that they were not working this case together as they did in the first two books because they work so well as a team and balance each other out well. Vega can be a bit reckless in the risks she takes but it sure makes for an exciting story.

This book was filled with excitement. Vega was really dealing with two cases since she did want to find the football player but couldn’t leave the white supremacy alone. There were times when I thought that the small town of Ilona was going to be too much for her. Vega and Cap do spend some time together in the book and I think that there was some real progress in their relationship so I am hopeful they will be back to being a team in the future.

I would recommend this book to others. I thought that it was an exciting read filled with a lot of action and a mystery that kept me guessing. I cannot wait to read more of Louisa Luna’s writing!

I received a digital review copy of this book from Doubleday Books via NetGalley.

About Louisa Luna

LOUISA LUNA is the author of the Alice Vega novels The Janes and Two Girls Down as well as Brave New Girl and Crooked. She was born and raised in San Francisco and lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and daughter.

20 responses to “Review – Hideout by Louisa Luna

  1. That is tough when you get used to a team or couple working together and then they get separated. Still, sounds like this was pretty good!

  2. I didn’t request this one because I have too many review books and my time is so limited right now, but I do want to get to it eventually as I love this series. I was sad to hear Alice and Cap spend so much time apart because that’s one of my favorite things about the series. Glad to hear it’s still enjoyable.

    • I do think that it is worth picking up. Cap and Vega are both present throughout the book so you do get to see both of them quite a bit.