Review – Owl and the Tiger Thieves by Kristi Charish

Posted April 12, 2022 by Carole in Reviews / 12 Comments

Review – Owl and the Tiger Thieves by Kristi CharishOwl and the Tiger Thieves by Kristi Charish
Narrator: Christy Romano
Series: The Owl Series #4
Published by Audible Studios on May 8, 2018
Genres: Fiction / Fantasy / Urban
Length: 13 hours 42 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
Amazon | Audible | B&N | Kobo
four-stars

In this fourth Owl novel, Kristi Charish (The Voodoo Killings) melds sparkling fantasy with the grit of urban underbelly—with a detour through the world’s most spectacular cities. This is perfect for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

Through no fault of her own, Alix has found herself essential to the fate of the world as we know it. She didn’t mean for this to happen—she was quite happy being merely the notorious antiquities thief, and ex-archeologist, known as Owl.

However, years ago, Owl reluctantly entered the secret world of the supernatural. Her goals: complete one job, escape one bounty on her head, continue her thieving in peace.

Fast forward to today. Now, she has become a key player in a brutal paranormal civil war that is rapidly getting out of hand. The leader of one of these factions—a lethal opponent called the Electric Samurai—grows more powerful by the second. To stop him, Owl sets out to find the long-lost, legendary group known as the Tiger Thieves.

But will it be too little too late? One thing Owl misses about “normal” archaeology: there are few emergencies with thousand-year-old relics.

This was wonderful! This is the fourth and apparently final book in the series. This is a series that really needs to be read n order since each book picks up right where the previous one left off. I expected this book to be exciting and it absolutely was. Owl has to somehow juggle saving her boyfriend, keeping her dragon boss happy, and staying alive. I was hooked by the story from the beginning and couldn’t wait to see how things would work out.

Owl’s boyfriend, Rynn, was taken by the Electric Samurai armor in the previous book. She knows that it could have been her in the armor so she is determined to save Rynn and stop the armor from becoming more powerful. I was kind of surprised when Artemis showed up to help her out but I thought that they made an interesting team, even when I wasn’t sure if he should be trusted. The stakes are high and things are incredibly dangerous. There were a few instances where Owl only had her cat, Captain, there to help her out. He is a special cat, but he is still a cat. I was entertained throughout this story.

I listened to the audiobook and thought that Christy Romano did a wonderful job with the narration. She has a pleasant voice that was easy to listen to for extended periods of time. I thought that she did a great job with the various character voices and really brought the story to life. There were a few times during the audiobook that I heard a bit of an echo which was somewhat distracting but it was otherwise a great performance.

I would recommend this series to others. My only complaint is that there are quite a few things left unresolved in this book and additional installments do not appear to be coming anytime soon. I feel like Owl has more left to do and hope that we will see more books in the future but I’m not holding my breath.

About Kristi Charish

Kristi Charish is a scientist and science fiction/fantasy writer who resides in Vancouver, British Columbia, with her spousal unit, Steve, and two cats named Captain Flash and Alaska. She received her BSc and MSc from Simon Fraser University in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, and her PhD in Zoology from the University of British Columbia. Kristi writes what she loves: adventure heavy stories featuring strong, savvy female protagonists.

12 responses to “Review – Owl and the Tiger Thieves by Kristi Charish

  1. Oh that is frustrating that not everything isn’t resolved. This does sound like a good series though and it definitely one I want to read.