Review – True Crime Story by Joseph Knox

Posted January 21, 2022 by Carole in Reviews / 6 Comments

I received this book for free from the Publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review – True Crime Story by Joseph KnoxTrue Crime Story by Joseph Knox
Narrator: Full Cast
Published by Recorded Books on December 7, 2021
Genres: Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Length: 11 hours 20 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
Amazon | Audible | B&N | Kobo | Libro.fm
four-stars

A strikingly original novel in the vein of Daisy Jones and The Six meets Riley Sager, True Crime Story twists together transcripts, emails, and documents into an investigation of a missing college girl, also weaving in the mysteries of how the narrator, "Joseph Knox", came to be in possession of these files and what fate befell the original author, as well as why Knox might not be telling us everything he knows.

Zoe Nolan disappeared from Manchester University in 2011. Her story was sad, certainly, but hardly sensational, Joseph Knox thought. As a crime writer, he felt that dead girls were everywhere, and the missing ones just didn't cut it. He wouldn't have given her any more thought were it not for Evelyn Mitchell.

Another writer struggling to come up with a new idea, Evelyn attended one of Joseph's publicity events, and she was wondering just what happened to all the girls who go missing. What were the stories there? What happened to Zoe? So Evelyn began investigating herself, and sending Joseph emails with chapters of the novel she was writing with her findings. Uneasy with the novel's corkscrew twists and turns, Joseph pays closer attention to the real story....

True Crime Story is an ambitious, sharp exploration of our obsession with all things true crime, from a former crime book seller.

I liked this book. I am more than willing to try just about any audiobook that features a full cast. I just really enjoy the experience of listening to full cast bring a story to life. As soon as I heard about this book, I was more than ready to give it a listen and I found it to be quite entertaining.

This book explores the disappearance of Zoe Nolan. Writer Evelyn Mitchell is looking into what really happened to Zoe with the hopes of putting everything together for a book. She discusses her progress with her friend Joseph Know who is also a writer. We hear from a lot of key individuals that might hold some information as to what really happened to Zoe all those years earlier. Zoe was a new college student enjoying herself at school but there were some strange things that happened just before she disappeared.

I really think that this story is meant to be experienced in audio. I actually could not imagine reading the back and forth exchanges between the authors or other characters and enjoying them to the same extent that I did in audio. I think that each of the voice actors did a great job in bringing their character and this story to life. I think that the narrators were able to add a lot of excitement and emotion to the story through their narration.

I would recommend this book to others. I thought that the mystery of what happened to Zoe was very intriguing and I loved that the story kept me guessing until the very end. I would definitely read more of this author’s work in the future.

I received a review copy of this audiobook from Recorded Books.

About Joseph Knox

JOSEPH KNOX is the author of the Aidan Waits crime series and a former bookseller in the UK. His novels have been translated into 14 languages.

6 responses to “Review – True Crime Story by Joseph Knox

  1. Debbie Haupt

    Oh I’m all about the audio Carole I think a really good cast can actually enhance the enjoyment of a book

  2. If I ever get back into audiobooks, I would like to listen to one with a full cast. I do like the sound of the book on its own though. I am glad you enjoyed it.