Review – The Siren and the Deep Blue Sea by Kerrelyn Sparks

Posted November 16, 2020 by Carole in 2020 New Release Challenge, Book Reviews / 7 Comments

The Siren and the Deep Blue Sea by Kerrelyn Sparks
Series: Embraced by Magic #2 / The Embraced #5
Publisher: Kensington Books
Publication Date: August 25, 2020
Date Read: November 15, 2020
Length: 416 pages
Source: Publisher via NetGalley

Perfect for fans of Christine Feehan’s Carpathian series and  G.A.
Aiken’s The Blacksmith Queen, New York Times bestselling author
Kerrelyn Sparks combines humor, action, and love in the electrifying new
book in her thrilling fantasy series.

Four sisters have become queens, rulers of all that Aerthlan’s two moons embrace. The last sister will forge her own path . . .
Signs and Seals
Raised on the magic-seeped Isle of Moon, Maeve is used to unusual
powers—and the way they fuel the politics of her world. But when she
discovers an ability to shape-shift at will, she knows who she wants to
share it with first. Brody, the enigmatic, infuriating shifter-spy has
always made time for Maeve. But it’s been almost two months since she’s
seen him. And though no one else believes Brody is in danger, Maeve is
more than ready to rescue him herself.
The rumors Brody’s
investigating are terrifying: a secret army of magic-users, in the
service of the cruel Circle of Five. But when he uncovers the identity
of one of the Five, the mission becomes personal. Cursed as a boy by the
Sea Witch, Brody can spend only two hours a day in his human form, a
restriction that limits his future and muzzles his heart. Plus Maeve
teases him for being such a pretty doggy instead of appreciating his
manly charms. To win his freedom, he must take on a terrible disguise.
And when Maeve finds out, she’ll unleash a tempest like no other . . .

My Review

I enjoyed this book quite a bit.  I have enjoyed this series from the very beginning and I was really excited to finally read Brody’s story.  This is the final book in the series and I would recommend reading the series in order if at all possible.  It was really easy to slip back into this world and fun to check in with some much-loved characters.  I am so glad that I was finally able to work this book into my schedule. 

Each book in this series focuses on a different couple and Maeve and Brody take the stage in this installment.  Maeve is the youngest of her adopted sisters and she is feeling a bit left out since her sisters are all married and queens of their own realm.  Maeve is a selkie and feels a special connection to Brody, who has the ability to change into any animal but can only hold his true form for 2 hours per day.  Since she hasn’t seen Brody for a while, she sets off to find him and ends up having quite the adventure.
I really liked Maeve and Brody as a couple.  They have a lot of challenges to overcome in order to be together but they are both determined to make it work.  It was obvious that they really did care for each other and I thought that the chemistry between them was very well done.  I liked that they were both facing their own personal challenges.  Maeve learns a lot about where she came from and there are a lot of revelations revealed about Brody’s past.  
I thought that the climax of the story was very well done.  It was nice to see how everything finally worked out for all of the characters in the series.  There were quite a few surprises along the way and I had a lot of fun seeing all of the key players work together to fight for what they believed in.  There were plenty of exciting scenes to keep things interesting throughout the story.  I really appreciated the fact that we got to see a secondary romance in this book as well.
I would recommend this series to others.  I had a lot of fun with this paranormal romance filled with great characters and plenty of excitement.  I will definitely be read more of this talented author’s work in the future.  

I received a digital review copy of this book from Kensington Books via NetGalley.

The Series

Book #1 – How to Tame a Beast in Seven DaysMy Review
Book #2 – So I Married a Sorcerer My Review
Book #3 – Eight Simple Rules for Dating a Dragon – My Review
Book #4 – How to Love Your Elf – My Review
Book #5 – The Siren and the Deep Blue Sea 
About the Author

Kerrelyn Sparks is best known (so far) for the Love at Stake series, which has hit as high as number 5 on the New York Times bestseller list and 22 on USA Today. Kerrelyn lives with her family in the Greater Houston area of Texas.

Author Links: Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

7 responses to “Review – The Siren and the Deep Blue Sea by Kerrelyn Sparks

  1. RO

    I'm a fan of Feehan's Carpathian series and have all the books. It's been quite some time since I read any paranormal or shapeshifting stories though. Glad you enjoyed the book and a great review! Hugs, RO

  2. I really loved this series. The overall story arc is resolved in this one finally. I didn't guess at any of it before the book at all. Fabulous review!

    Anne – Books of My Heart